Aamir Khan

Date of Birth

14 March 1965, Mumbai, India

Nickname

A.K.

Height

5′ 5″ (1.65 m)

Mini Biography

Aamir was first introduced as a child artiste in the 1970’s hit Yaadon Ki Baaraat (1973) — he was the youngest child in the trio. He ‘quit’ movies and went on to become the state tennis champion for Maharashtra. Aamir also fell in love with the girl next door in the meantime. He proposed to her the day he turned 21, and she accepted. But apparently, there was opposition since she was from a Hindu family and he, from a devout Islamic one. So, they eloped, got married and returned to their homes. Aamir’s wife Reena even appears in the song “Papa Kehte Hain” that made him the darling of the nation. From the tremendous success of Qayamat Se Qayamat Tak (1988), which was released when he was 23, he has blossomed into India’s finest actor. His list of sterling performances include Dil (1990), _Dil Hai Ke Manta Nahin (1990)_, _Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikander (1992)_, Hum Hain Rahi Pyar Ke (1993), Andaz Apna Apna (1994), Rangeela (1995), Raja Hindustani (1996), Ishq (1997), Ghulam (1998) and Sarfarosh (1999).

His performance in Earth (1998) as the Ice-Candy man has received rave reviews from Indian and International critics. Using classic “method acting”, Aamir acts in all genres of Indian films – comedy, action, drama and romance. Though he performs in few films, Aamir Khan is acknowleged today as the most complete Indian actor for his diverse choice of roles and films.

Mini Biography

Aamir khan was born on March 14 1965 in Holy Family Hospital in Bandra, Mumbai in India in a conservative Muslim family which has been part of Hindi Film Industry for a long time. Aamir first came on screen as a child artist in his Uncle Nasir Hussain’s production Yaadon Ki Baaraat (1973), it was not a real part just a blink and miss appearance in the title song of the film. He again appeared as a child artist in the film Madhoshi (1974). Much later he appeared in the art film Holi (1984)along with his friend and later his director Ashutosh Gowariker, the film also starred Naseeruddin Shah. Subsequently he went on to become the state tennis champion of Maharashtra. Sometime before his debut film Aamir fell in love with a girl in his neighborhood Reena. Since she belonged to a Hindu family and he from devout Muslim family, they faced opposition and therefore they married secretly, later they revealed it to the world after his debut movie as lead Qayamat Se Qayamat Tak(QSQT) as a leading man was released in 1988, the film was a run away success and he achieved instant stardom (the film is now considered a classic of Hindi Cinema)and not only that the film was successful in turning the tide away from action centric violent films to family oriented romantic musical dramas in Hindi Cinema, the luminous example of which are MPK (1989), HAHK (1994) and DDLJ (1995). In his second film Raakh (a small, art film) he did a complete opposite role from the lover boy of his first film, his breakthrough performance in this film bagged him the National Film Award of Special Jury. Afterwards he signed a few not so good films which failed at the box office. In the year 1990 he delivered the biggest grosser of the year in the form of Dil and since then he has not looked back giving several commercial and critical hits, his superlative performances include films like Dil (1990), Dil Hai Ke Manta Nahin (1991), Daulat Ki Jung (1992), Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikander( 1992), Hum Hain Rahi Pyar Ke( 1993), Parampara (1993), Andaz Apna Apna (1994), Baazi( 1995), Rangeela (1995), Akele Hum Akele Tum (1995), Raja Hindustani (1996), Ishq (1997), Earth(1998), Ghulam (1998), Sarfarosh (1999), Dil Chahta Hai( 2001), Lagaan (2001), Mangal Panday (2005), Fanaa( 2006) and Rang De Basanti (2006).

In 2007 he turned director with the film Taare Zameen Par which not only brought him immense critical acclaim but was a huge box office success. Many of his films are considered as cult classics like QSQT, Lagaan, Dil Chahta Hai, Range De Basanti, Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikander and Andaz Apna Apna. He divorced his first wife in December 2001 and married Kiran Rao in December 2005.

In 2008 his first all out commercial action film Ghajini went on to become the highest grossing film of its time in Indian Cinema and 4th highest inflation adjusted, grossing a total of Rs.226 on the worldwide box office and the first film to cross 100 crores on the domestic Indian box office, making a total of Rs.115 crores. This record didn’t last long though when his next release 3 Idiots went on to shatter not only the highest grosser record but many more. It not only made the highest opening first day, first weekend and first week records but subsequently continued to shatters many record on the following weekends and weeks, making many circuits records on the way. It made a total of Rs.202 crore domestically and Rs.400 crores on worldwide box becoming the highest overseas grosser till date, a staggering feat given that no other film has even come close to making Rs.100 crore on the domestic box office till date, except his own Ghajini last year.

Aamir is said to be the actor who first started the trend of actor’s working in one film at a time, when the others worked in four or five at the same time. He is also known to shun popular film trade magazine awards like Filmfare, Star Screen etc as he doesn’t have trust in their credibility and transparency. Recently he was awarded the third highest civilian honour Padama Bhushan by the government of India.

Aamir Khan, a method actor, his range of characterizations remains unparalleled and because of this diversity and his ability to portray different characters believably on screen, today he is regarded as not only one of the biggest Superstars but also one of the finest actors of Indian Cinema.
Spouse

Kiran Rao (December 2005 – present)
Reena Dutta (18 April 1986 – December 2002) 2 children
Trivia

Was offered the role of Rahul Mehra in Darr (1993).

Refuses to accept the usual awards from Indian trade magazines such as Filmfare.

Known as perfectionist who insists on getting a finished script before committing to a film and also refuses to work on more than one film at a time, both very unusual for Bollywood where actors usually work in several films at a time and script details are often improvised on the day of shooting.

One of the three Khans that ruled Bollywood in the 90s. The other two are Salman Khan and Shahrukh Khan.

Son of Tahir Hussain, brother of Faisal Khan, Farhat Khan and Nikhat Khan

Nephew of Nasir Hussain

Cousin of Mansoor Khan

Files for divorce from wife Reena on December 9, 2002.

Awarded Padma Bhushan for the year 2003 by the Government of India.

Recently had another child with his ex-girlfriend, English writer Jessica Hines, who delivered their son, Jaan Harry Hines, on September 14 2003.

Uncle of Imran Khan.

Has 2 children with ex-wife Reena: a son, Junaid, and a daughter, Ira.

Mother is Zeenat Hussain. Sometimes she is referred to as Zeena Hussain.

After his first marriage he took another flat in the same building where he lived with his parents, and started living there.

Has been a big fan of Alfred Hitchkock stories.

Visited Pakistan for fund raising of Shaukat Khanum Cancer Hospital on invitation by the cricketer Imran Khan.

Formed a popular on-screen pair with Juhi Chawla

Shares a birthday with Michael Caine, Mercedes McNab, Kylie Tyndall, Keaton Tyndall, Quincy Jones, Chris Klein, & Jamie Bell

The Press Trust of India reported Khan will marry girlfriend Kiran Rao in Panchgani, India on 1 January 2006. It later reported Khan and Rao married in a small ceremony at his home in Mumbai, India on 28 December 2005.

Highest paid actor in Bollywood.

Time magazine refers to him as the Indian ‘Sean Penn’.

Very close friends with Rani Mukherjee and Urmila Montondkar.

His ancestors hail from Afghanistan.

Has a reputation for shunning award ceremonies and avoiding the glare of the media.

Turned down Madame Tussaud’s offer to immortalize him in a wax statue.

Cites Daniel Day-Lewis and Dilip Kumar as his favorite actors.

Is a Tennis-enthusiast, and particularly admires Roger Federer.

Personal Quotes

Every film I do means a lot to me. The failure of Mela, definitely made a difference to me. I am not comfortable with the idea of my films not releasing to their full potential.

“There’s a lot of talent both in India and Pakistan. I think the talent in both these two countries should come together and entertain the world audience. If the right offer and opportunity comes my way, I’d love to do a movie in Pakistan.” (12 May 2006)

Film making is like fighting a war with leadership at the front.

I found that what happened 150 years ago was happening again with Americans entering other countries and exploiting them but pretending they were doing a favor. It was this contemporary feel that attracted me.

My son is a harsh critic.

I enjoy the love I receive from my fans and my audience. But I think I know what is real for me and what is not.

Salary

Ghajini (2008)Rs.150,000,000

Fanaa (2006)INR 100,000,000

Rang De Basanti (2006)INR 100,000,000

The Rising: Ballad of Mangal Pandey (2005)INR 80,000,000

Dil Chahta Hai (2001)INR 30,000,000

Aamir Khan does everything with his signature style…be it acting or marketing his film. While he travelled incognito across cities for promoting 3 IDIOTS, after the release of the film he is out with his team on a ‘Thanks Giving’ tour. The ‘intelligent’ Rancho in conversation with Our Correspondent.

You are known for doing intelligent cinema. But how real are your characters?
Good question to start with! (Smiles) I think my characters in all my films are more real than most roles other actors pursue.

Let’s take – RANG DE BASANTI (RDB), GHAJINI and 3 IDIOTS. Your characters are more like ‘what it should have been’ than ‘this is what real characters are’…
I am not denying that. The characters are based in reality; coated with fiction. But at least, I try to convey some message through my films; the latest being 3 IDIOTS, where we have taken up education system.

It seems you love playing a college student-be it RDB or 3 IDIOTS. How comfortable you are playing a college goer in your 40s?
People say I still look 18…no, sweet 16! (Laughs)

Okay. So, what goes behind this teenager look?

‘I don’t consider myself as a brand.’

I had followed a strict diet for 3 IDIOTS and when you lose weight automatically you look younger. And also I drink a lot of water…4 litres of water a day at least. That keeps the skin fresh and I play a lot of games like badminton and all. That’s all.

Coming back to 3 IDIOTS, where did you get the idea to promote the film incognito?
The idea is mine…I was thinking what will happen if Aamir Khan suddenly disappears like Rancho in the film, and his fans and friends start looking for him. I told the idea to Vidhu Vinod Chopra (producer) sitting in front of his house and he laughed at me…he thought I am mad. But was adamant and decided to give it a shot.

How was the experience?
It was a wonderful experience…travelling to those parts of country I have never been before, meeting people; connecting to the roots of my country…I will always cherish and remember those days.

Which place did you enjoy the most?
All. I think each state is so unique in its own culture. You see the terrains, language, food changing as you move on. That’s how I became so fat!

But there are places where you didn’t go in disguise…
Yes…places where I wanted to bring attention of people onto some issue, I didn’t go in disguise. For example, when I went to the weavers to highlight their problems and issues, I didn’t play a game. I went as who I am; they didn’t know I was coming, so they were surprised. Similarly, I went as myself to a school in a small village in Gujarat to promote education, especially importance of education of girl child.

Now what made you stay away from partying on the 31st December night and come to Kolkata?
The reactions we are getting from Kolkata are really wonderful. So we came here to thank West Bengal for the kind of reception they have given to the film. We interacted with the audience at Fame Cinemas, and had a charity screening for army wives. Not only Kolkata, the 3 IDIOTS team decided to tour across 7 cities in 7 days and thank people for liking the film so much. We started with Bangalore.

What’s your New Year resolution?
You know when I was doing ‘Bharat darshan’ for two weeks, wherever I went, I got lovely food. So I ate a lot; especially in Kolkata at Sourav dada’s (Sourav Ganguly) house, the food …the sweet dishes were too good! So now I have become a ‘rasgulla’ myself. So my New Year resolution is to lose weight and get back to shape.

Why do most of your films stir up controversies-be it LAGAAN, RDB, MANGAL PANDEY and the latest 3 IDIOTS?
It’s for the media to tell. Don’t believe in everything that you write. (Winks and smiles)

But the Chetan Bhagat controversy is not media-made. What do you have to say on that?
We have exactly followed the agreement that Vinodji (Vidhu Vinod Chopra) and the production house had with Chetan Bhagat. His name shows in the last rolling credits along with others.

Still Bhagat is very upset….
Yes…I know that he is very upset. Even I am upset with him. As an uninterested

‘I wanted to do characters of Mahabharata.’

party, this is my opinion that it is unfortunate that Chetan is behaving in this manner. Credit should be given where it is due. Do you know who Abhijat Joshi is? He is the one who wrote LAAGE RAHO MUNNABHAI and worked on the script of 3 IDIOTS for three years. The due credit has been given to him by the producer and director. He is not as well-known as Chetan Bhagat, who is a big star in the world of writing. Chetan is trying to get the credit away from Abhijat, which I am very upset about.

Did you ever talk to Chetan Bhagat on the credit issue?
One day Chetan came to the sets of 3 IDIOTS. I told him-‘Chetan, I have not read your book. But I will read it sometime.’ In reply, he said, ‘You don’t need to read it at all because the story that Abhijat and Raju (Rajkumar Hirani) has written, is very different from my book.’ These are his words…I am a witness. Now that the film has become successful, I think he is trying to get some publicity. Starting point…idea was ‘Five Point Someone’…but the script was changed entirely. If you have seen the film, pick out all the 15-20 highlight scenes of the film, and show me if any one of them is similar to the book. No one should be confused that Abhijit is the writer of our film. He also wrote LAAGE RAHO MUNNABHAI…was that also copied from Chetan Bhagat! Don’t get confused by a person trying to get publicity.

You have released the music of ‘Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na’ at Shammi Kapoor’s residence. What is the reason for not choosing a five star hotel as a venue?
I think Shammi uncle has always proved to be my lucky mascot, right from the time I started my career as an actor with Qayamat Se Qayamat Tak. I sought his blessings even back then and have continued to do so, right till my directorial debut, Taare Zameen Par. I have always had his support. As this is my first film as producer, which does not have me as an actor, I needed his blessings very badly. So I found his house to be the perfect venue for the music launch of Jaane Tu.

How do you look at the film. Is Jaane Tu a launch pad for Imraan or is it primarily, from your prespective, an Aamir Khan production. Or are both aspects equally important for you?
No, if you see the first promo of Jaane Tu, you will have a clear idea that it is definitely not the launch pad for Imraan. Abbas (Tyrewala) came to me with the script, and I really liked the concept. My motive is to make a quality product and I want people to believe that whichever film carries my name, will have that stamp of quality. An Aamir Khan Productions should symbolize, in people’s minds, something, which is really interesting and worth watching. I want to build a certain level or a brand name for A.K Productions. That’s the idea behind establishing Aamir Khan Productions, as I have established my name in the film industry.

What was your contribution to the film?
My biggest contribution has been to bring Mansoor back. We have all been trying to get him back to the industry for quite a while now. I succeeded this time as he is also very fond of Imraan. I needed his help desperately as I was very busy with Taare Zameen Par and wanted someone to give full attention to this film.

You are known to follow a strict discipline when it comes to work. So were you the same during the making of Jaane Tu as well?
No, it’s not so. It’s just that I just expect my work should be done properly and on time. As a producer, I am trying to give the film the best possible release as I truly believe that it’s a very different film. It’s full of energy and youthfulness, as Abbas is just 30. But do you know, he was the oldest guy on the sets of the film? So, you can just imagine the energy that this film has.

The release of Jaane Tu is clashing with that of Love Story 2050. Both are the debut films for their respective lead actors, Imraan and Harman Baweja. So was the clash really necessary?
Harry is a very good friend, and we tried everything possible to shift the date of release but couldn’t do so. But I don’t think it really matters. There are so many movies coming up that it is almost impossible to find a date when you can release only your film. In the past, both Lagaan and Gadar were released on the same day and both films did well at the box office and went down well with audiences too. So it’s no big deal.

What do you feel about the music of the movie?
A.R. Rahman has done a fantastic job in this film. After a long time, he has given such wonderful youthful music. The song ‘Papu Cant Dance’ is a very humorous song and has a very good concept. If you ask me to name a favourite, then I would have to say that it is ‘Kabhi Kabhi Aditi’. Rahman’s music and Abbas’ s lyrics: I would say the result has been rocking!

What was the feedback that you received after the special screening of Jaane Tu?
After the screening, everybody found a lot of similarities between me and Imraan. But I must say that Imraan is far better looking than me and will go a long way. But yes, he has a lot to learn still. I am always there with him, and will always support him as long as I can. But otherwise, he has to walk his own way.

What was your reaction when you were offered the role of a young collegian in ‘3 Idiots’?

When Raju Hirani came to me to offer me the role Rancho in ‘3 Idiots’, to tell you the truth, I was scared and petrified to take it up. I instantly told both Raju and Vidhu Vinod Chopra that it was a dangerous decision on their part to have thought of me to play the young college boy in the film, because I was not at all sure whether I would be able to pull off as a college boy.

How were you then convinced to take up the role?

Raju brainwashed me into saying yes to the offer because he felt that I was the real life Rancho in any way and I could bring out the truth in the way the character had been conceived.

Can you elucidate?

Raju told me that I could very successfully pull off as the character of the Assistant Police Commissioner for director John Mathew Matthan in ‘Sarfarosh’, though people were very skeptical about it. Raju also told me that I could pull off as a gaon ka chora in ‘Lagaan’ and shock every one. Raju goaded me to take up the challenge and rise up to the occasion in ‘3 Idiots’ too, like I had done the role of tapori in ‘Rangeela’ after having emerged as a romantic hero with ‘Qayamat Se Qayamat Tak’. I had to work a lot physically, because the first and foremost condition laid down by Raju was that I should concentrate a lot on my looks to suit the role.

Is it true that just two days before the shooting started, you asked Raju to replace you with some other actor?

Yes. Just two days before the shooting was slated to begin, I even rang up Raju and told him that if only he wanted, he could change his decision and cast a younger actor in the role that he had marked for me, but he did not listen to me and just stuck to his gun.

How was the experience of acting in ‘3 Idiots’?

I would say that I have surprised myself a lot by challenging against the norms as far as I am concerned as an actor in ‘3 Idiots’, thanks to Raju Hirani. In real life, I do not do mimicry so well but Raju asked me to ape Boman Irani for the song ‘Zoobi Doobi’ by studying Boman’s body language. To what extent I have succeeded in mimicking him, you have to tell me after you watch ‘3 Idiots’.

How confident are you of your capability in ‘3 Idiots’?

I did the role of a sensitive professor in ‘Taare Zameen Par’. Then I played a killer in ‘Ghajini’ and now I am playing the role of a college student in ‘3 Idiots’. I hope that I have been able to pull it off too and end up having an encore.

How tough was it for you to market ‘3 Idiots’?

I am of the opinion that every film has its own requirement of marketing. The way I set out to market ‘Taare Zameen Par’ was entirely different from the way I marketed ‘Ghajini’. ‘3 Idiots’ required a different kind of strategy as far as its marketing was concerned.

How would you rate Kareena Kapoor as your co-actor?

Kareena is a wonderful actress. I would unhesitatingly even go to the extent of saying that she is not only very good to look at, but also warm and friendly and spontaneous and fun to work with. Though I had earlier worked with Karisma Kapoor in ‘Raja Hindustani’, I think after working with her in ‘3 Idiots’ I am a li’l pallier with Kareena. In fact, though I was busy with the promotional activities of my own film ‘3 Idiots’, I keenly looked forward to watch ‘Kurbaan’ because I wanted her and Saif to do well, both personally as well as professionally.

How did you achieve the feat of shedding your eight-pack abs for your role in ‘3 Idiots’ after having built your body for ‘Ghajini’?

When I do a film, I go by its requirement. In fact, I wondered how I could succeed in making a body with eight-pack abs like in ‘Ghajini’, in a span of just one year but I transformed myself, thanks to my will power. We have absolutely no idea of human brain. I feel that if you focus your energy at one point, you can succeed in doing whatever you want to do.

Your brother Hyder Ali Khan’s film ‘Trump Card’ is clashing with your film ‘3 Idiots’ on Christmas Day. What do you have to say?

Any one can claim that he is my brother, but the fact is that Faisal Khan is my only brother. I do not have any other brother.

3 IDIOTS have broken the box office records of GHAJINI. So now you have become your own competitor in a true sense…
You know, I don’t look at things like that. I don’t consider myself as a brand,02-Jan-10s but an artiste who works with stories that inspire me. To prepare for a role I have to get into the head of the character, be it an action-packed role in GHAJINI or a college student in 3 IDIOTS. I have not been to any acting school, so I go with my instinct.

Whatever you touch turns to gold. What’s the funda of your success?
The funda of success is – don’t think of success but excellence. If you think of success, you may face consequences which are often not nice.

How is it that you always get cream roles in the industry?
I love different stories and my profession is that of story-telling. As an actor this is my good luck that I got to play such good stories…that so very good writers approached me. The kind of reaction you are giving to 3 IDIOTS, I was equally moved, excited when I heard the script.

You have always experimented with your looks in all films. Which is your favourite look that you sported so far?
I think GHAJINI look was good…the short hair and scar. Also I like MANGAL PANDEY…big moustaches!

What are your next projects?
Next project is DHOBI GHAAT…shooting is completed; the post-production part is left. It will release in the second half of 2010. I am playing one of the four lead roles in the film. I won’t sign / take any acting project this year…as a producer I will release three of my films (DHOBI GHAAT, DELHI BELLY’ and PEEPLI LIVE) instead.

How is it being directed by your wife Kiran Rao in DHOBI GHAAT?
I enjoyed a lot working with Kiran. She is very clear as a director as to what she wants.

Are you working with Shah Rukh Khan in BOMBAY VELVET?
I don’t know who are working in BOMBAY VELVET because I am going through the script right now.

Any plans for directing films?
Right now I will take two months off to spend time with my family. After that I will start reading scripts that I can take up as an actor, producer or potential director. It depends on what come my way.

As a viewer, what kind of films you like watching?
I like any genre of film as a viewer as long as the script is good and the film is well-made; except horror. I am scared of horror films. And also I don’t like too much violence.

Then, why did you do GHAJINI?
I did GHAJINI, but I was not an audience at that time.

Are you a movie buff?
Actually I am a person who reads more than watching films. In general, my film viewing is much less than it ought to be. I should be watching more films as a person of cinema. I think my upbringing is such…in my childhood my parents didn’t use to allow me watch films; six months one film. And we had to take permission…romantic films not allowed. My parents didn’t allow me to watch BOBBY.

Do you have a dream role?
Actually I wanted to do characters of Mahabharata. But I feel it’s not right for an actor to choose favourite roles, but script.

Is it true that you make lots of changes in every script you work on?
No, this is totally a wrong info. I am a very difficult person…I don’t proceed until and unless I like the script. And if I like a script why should I change it? I liked it that’s why I chose it. And if I don’t like a script, I don’t do it at all; so what’s there to change?

You are also accused of ghost-directing films. What do you have to say about that?
Completely wrong accusation; I plead not guilty, because, very honestly, I am not interested in doing work for others. I choose my directors with a lot of care after I am totally sure that I want to work with that person. When I want to direct a film, I will direct my own; why should I ghost-direct for somebody?

Amitabh Bachchan, Shah Rukh Khan, Aamir Khan-who do you think is the No 1 in Bollywood?
Dilip Kumar is No 1 for me…I am his biggest fan. I am a huge fan of Amitji (Amitabh Bachchan) too. I don’t believe in these numbers. I find these very childish. Each actor is unique. Also there is nothing called big film or small film. What will you call TAARE ZAMEEN PAR – big or small?

Leave a Reply

